Guilt free banana ice cream

I’ve seen this done on a bunch of YouTube videos and have been dying to try it myself. The other day my local co-op had over ripe bananas in the mark down bins. I grabbed a bunch. Well many bunches to be exact! I brought them home, peeled them, cut them into 2-3″ sections and threw them into a gallon freezer bag and into the freezer. The next day I pulled my Omega Vert and got to work. (Make sure to use the larger screen) Add the pieces in one at a time. Too much too fast and you’ll lock it up. If it does seize up just use the reverse button to free it up and start at it again. I process the bananas until it starts to come out from the top of the container. You will have banana in both collection cups and within the juicing tray. Use a spatula to get as much out as you can and mix all three collections into one. It’s sweet. It’s cold. It’s smooth. It’s healthy. It’s delicious!! This can also be done on a high powered blender like a Vitamix but I haven’t tried that method.

20120730-215826.jpg

Comments
One Response to “Guilt free banana ice cream”
  1. I’m visiting from Food Ramblings and am delighted to find a vegetarian blog ( I am vegetarian/vegan) . Frozen bananas are one of my favorite desserts. I love how you made them into a creamy dessert. I would love it if you stopped by and visited me too.

Leave a Reply

